Further finalists for 2019 HOTY

Five horses are in contention for the Champion Jumper title at the 2019 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards.

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing has announced another batch of finalists for the 2018-19 season.

Jackfrost, winner of both the Grand National Hurdles (4200m) and Great Northern Hurdles (4200m), joins the major steeplechase winners Chocolate Fish (Great Northern Steeplechase, 6300m), Gagarin (Wellington Steeplechase, 5500m), Perry Mason (Hawke’s Bay & Pakuranga Hunt Cup) and Shamal (Grand National and Waikato) as finalists in the jumping category.

Finalists have also been confirmed in the trainer, jockey, jumps jockey and owner categories.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Auckland, at the Ellerslie Racecourse, on Sunday, September 8.

Champion jumper: Chocolate Fish, Gagarin, Jackfrost, Perry Mason, Shamal.

Trainer of the Year: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman, Jamie Richards.

Jockey of the Year: Lisa Allpress, Opie Bosson, Matthew Cameron, Johnathan Parkes.

Jumps Jockey of the Year: Aaron Kuru, Buddy Lammas, Shaun Phelan.

Owner of the Year: Archer Equine Investments, China Horse Club Racing, JML Bloodstock, Kevin Hickman, Kamada Racing and Bloodstock, Brendan and Jo Lindsay Partnership, NZ Thoroughbred Holdings, Raffles Dancers (NZ), Kelvin Tyler, Sir Peter Vela.


This product has been added to your cart